Reimagining the Library

It’s Spring cleaning in December!

I have started clearing out rows of books no longer in use since the Hillel days to create more space for student work areas, more computers, new movable furniture and whiteboards.  I’d really like to see the library become even more of a learning centre; a place where small groups of students are sent throughout the day by their teachers to collaborate, research, complete projects, or when they just need some time outside the classroom environment to complete their work according to their specific learning needs.

I want the library to act as a work hub for students from all grades and become a place that is accessible not just during their recess library times or during their once-a-week  class visit, but as an extension of classroom space.

To aid this, I am envisioning a system based on one I read about in at Big Walnut School in Ohio where students are given a prescription from their teacher that would look much like this;

This prescription would act as a directive for both me and the students as to what they should be using their time in the library for and to keep them on track lest they be sent back to class prematurely.

This space has so much potential, I am eager to see how it all unfolds in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *