September 25

OJCS Storytime – Fun For Fall!

Today we read…

Fall by Stephanie Turnbull

Kitten’s Autumn by Eugenie Fernandes

Fall Mixed Up by Bob Raczka, illustrated by Chad Cameron

Your Fall Mixed Up Activity

Think about something you connect with the Fall and mix it up!  If you eat apples and honey for Rosh Hashanah, maybe in your mix-up, you eat apples and beans!  Or if you know squirrels collect nuts, maybe in your mix up, skunks collect nuts for Winter.

Take turns sharing your Fall mix-up idea, write a short journal entry about it, or draw a picture of it!

 

September 24

Fire Safety Storytime

Today we will learn about fire safety by…

    • listening to the story Stop Drop and Roll by Margery Cuyler, illustrated by Arthur Howard
    • watching a fire safety education video created by the Brampton Fire Department
    • and practising a fire drill with our class

 

September 23

OJCS Storytime – Meet Terry Fox

Meet Terry Fox by Elizabeth Macleod, illustrated by Mike Deas

Discussion Questions:

  • Terry Fox has left a legacy of hope and will forever be one of Canada’s greatest heroes.  Discuss what made Terry stand out as a hero.
  • What kinds of things can we do to help others in our classroom, our school, our home, our city, our country, and our world?
  • Terry’s best friend Doug supported Terry every day by being there for every single step.  How can we be more like Doug and support our friends?

 

September 16

OJCS Storytime – Books About Reading

Today We Read;

Born to Read by Judy Sierra and illustrated by Marc Brown

We Are in a Book! by Mo Willems

Carlo Likes Reading by Jessica Spanyol

Optional Activity:

Your students can be just like the adorable Carlo and label the whole classroom!  A great exercise in practicing writing simple words for younger students.

 

September 11

OJCS Storytime – Books About Friendship

What does it mean to be a good friend?  Today we will find out and you will have the opportunity to share your thoughts too!

RECOMMENDED ACTIVITIES:

Link to the Friendship Flipgrid: https://flipgrid.com/2bc62150

OR

Draw a picture about how you can be a good friend!  If you write, write underneath what is happening in your picture.  Feel free to share them with me and I can post them here!  b.ruel@theojcs.ca

June 18

OJCS Storytime for the LAST WEEK OF SCHOOL!!

Kiki & Coco in Paris – Photographs by Stephanie Rausser, story by Nina Gruener, doll by Jess Brown.

We made it to the last week of school!  Woo hoo!!  Maybe you and your family are going away somewhere for a little trip or to a cottage.  This book is about a girl who takes a very big trip, to Paris, France.  Here it is on a world map.

France location on the World Map

Your activity this summer – make a travelogue!

How to Make the Perfect Photo Book | ShutterflyWherever you go this summer, whether to visit family in a different city or town, to a cottage, or somewhere even further, create your own travelogue.  A travelogue can be a photo album with notes next to the photos, a google doc with your pictures in it and some description, a book of drawings and notes about the places you visit, or even a video.  Travelogues can be a fun summer project that allow you to share your experience with your classmates and teachers in September.

Alternative Activity – A Picnic in Paris

Fresh juices, various vegetables and berries, baguette and cheese ...

If you aren’t going anywhere at all this summer, you can imagine that you are travelling to Paris for a picnic.  In Paris you see people picnicking everywhere!

You will need;

  • a picnic blankey
  • a baguette
  • some cheeses or vegan cheeses
  • some fruit
  • some grape juice (so you can pretend it’s wine!)

Set it up in the backyard on a nice day and imagine you are far far away!!

June 15

Fun Summer Reading Recommendations for Middle Schoolers

Lazy hours spent reading on the patio or at the beach is one the best things about summer!  Here is a list of not-heavy, super fun, reading recommendations for our grades 6, 7, and 8s that you can find at your nearest public library or bookstore.

I can’t wait to see everyone in September, I have missed you all very much.

Have a wonderful summer!

YOUR ASSIGNMENT – YOUR SUMMER BOOK BUCKET LIST:  In the comments on this page, post a list of books you plan to read over the summer.  They can be from your personal collection, from this list, books you’ve seen mentioned online, books you’ve seen in bookstores, or other books you already had in mind to borrow or buy this summer.

 

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by [Ben Philippe]A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. 

 

 

 

 

 

Hot Dog GirlNow in paperback, a fresh and funny contemporary YA rom-com about teens working as costumed characters in a local amusement park.

 

 

 

 

 

THE QUEEN'S ASSASSINPerfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

 

 

 

MY CALAMITY JANE

Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers, outlaws, and garou—better known as werewolves.

And where there are garou, there’re hunters: the one and only Calamity Jane, to be precise, along with her fellow stars of Wild Bill’s Traveling Show, Annie Oakley and Frank “the Pistol Prince” Butler.

After a garou hunt goes south and Jane finds a suspicious-like bite on her arm, she turns tail for Deadwood, where there’s talk of a garou cure. But rumors can be deceiving—meaning the gang better hightail it after her before they’re a day late and a Jane short.

 

INFINITY SONBalancing epic and intensely personal stakes, bestselling author Adam Silvera’s Infinity Son is a gritty, fast-paced adventure about two brothers caught up in a magical war generations in the making.

 

 

 

 

 

THE UPSIDE OF FALLINGA fun, flirty teen debut from Wattpad phenom Alex Light about a fake relationship and real love.

 

 

 

 

 

DRAGON HOOPSThe trials of a high school basketball team trying to clinch the state title and the graphic novelist chronicling them. (kirkus reviews)

 

 

 

 

 

A story of scorned witches, sinister curses, and resurrection, The Bone Witch is the start of a dark fantasy trilogy.

 

 

 

 

 

When Wyatt gets framed for a friend’s crime, he thinks his life is over. But then a mysterious stranger visits him in jail with an unusual proposal: spend three months in a secret government camp and have a ten-year prison sentence wiped clean.

 

 

 

 

SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDASixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight.

 

 

 

 

 

A human teen and an alien invader make an unlikely and potentially dangerous connection. (kirkus reviews)

 

 

 

 

 

THE NOVICEFletcher is working as a blacksmith’s apprentice when he discovers he has the rare ability to summon demons from another world. Chased from his village for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must travel with his demon, Ignatius, to an academy for adepts, where the gifted are taught the art of summoning.

 

 

 

 

Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) by [Leigh Bardugo]Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold—a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed.

Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country’s magical military elite—and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.

 

NIMONA

Nimona is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy. Lord Ballister Blackheart is a villain with a vendetta. As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

But as small acts of mischief escalate into a vicious battle, Lord Blackheart realizes that Nimona’s powers are as murky and mysterious as her past. And her unpredictable wild side might be more dangerous than he is willing to admit.

 

 

P.K. SUBBANP.K. Subban is a remarkable athlete and role model. Initially drafted in 2007 to the Montreal Canadiens, P.K. now plays for the New Jersey Devils. He’s set records and won the Norris Trophy, the highest honor in hockey for a defenseman. Often the center of controversy, he is the pride of many fans and a hero to young athletes of color. His stand against racism relies more on actions to support others than on relating his own experiences. He is known to have made the largest donation to charity by a Canadian athlete in history, and works to build an understanding between at-risk youth and law enforcement across North America.

 

 

 

Superman Smashes the Klan (2019-2020) (Superman Smashes the Klan (2019-))The year is 1946, and the Lee family has moved from Chinatown to Downtown Metropolis. While Dr. Lee is eager to begin his new position at the Metropolis Health Department, his two kids, Roberta and Tommy, are more excited about being closer to the famous superhero Superman!
Tommy adjusts quickly to the fast pace of their new neighborhood, befriending Jimmy Olsen and joining the baseball team, while his younger sister Roberta feels out of place when she fails to fit in with the neighborhood kids. She’s awkward, quiet, and self-conscious of how she looks different from the kids around her, so she sticks to watching people instead of talking to them. While the Lees try to adjust to their new lives, an evil is stirring in Metropolis: the Ku Klux Klan.